Alexandra Palace

ALEXANDRA PARK AND PALACE CHARITABLE TRUST BOARD 19 JUNE 2018

Report Title: Membership of Committees

Report of: Louise Stewart, Chief Executive Officer, Alexandra Park and

Palace Charitable Trust (APPCT)

Contact Officer: Natalie Layton, Executive Assistant and Charity Secretary, APPCT

Email: Natalie.layton@alexandrapalace.com, Telephone: 020 8365 4335

Purpose:

This report acknowledges the changes to the membership of the Alexandra Park and Palace Charitable Trust (APPCT) Board and updates the Board on the memberships of the following for 2018/19:

Statutory Advisory Committee (SAC)
Consultative Committee (CC)
Alexandra Palace Trading Limited Board (APTL)
Finance, Risk and Audit Committee (FRAC)

The Board is asked to note the SAC and CC memberships.

The Board is asked to approve the appointed FRAC members, Directors of APTL and Programme Board Members.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 N/A

1. Recommendations

- 1.1 To note membership of the Alexandra Park and Palace Advisory Committee (**Appendix 1**);
- 1.2 To note the membership of the Alexandra Park and Palace Consultative Committee (**Appendix 2**);
- 1.3 To approve the membership of the Alexandra Palace Trading Limited Board (**Appendix 3**);
- 1.4 To approve the membership of the Finance, Risk and Audit Committee (**Appendix 4**) and appoint the FRAC Chair;

- 1.5 To approve the membership of the East Wing Restoration Project Programme Board (**Appendix 5**);
- 1.6 Appoint Lead Safeguarding trustee (or resolve to defer to July Board meeting).

2. Introduction/ background

- 2.1 The voting members of the Alexandra Park and Palace Charitable Trust Board are appointed by Haringey Council, the Corporate Trustee of Alexandra Park and Palace Charitable Trust.
- 2.2 The Board may appoint up to four of its voting members (who are representatives of the Corporate Trustee) to the board of the Charity's trading subsidiary, APTL.
- 2.4 The Statutory Advisory Committee was established by the Alexandra Park and Palace Act, 1985, and membership consists of:
 - eight members appointed by Haringey Council, 6 of whom shall be elected councillors of the areas (wards) neighbouring Alexandra Park and Palace (APP);
 - 6 members nominated by local residents' associations who meet the criteria stated within the Act.
- 2.5 Haringey Council also established a Consultative Committee, which consists of up to 30 members of local groups that meet specific criteria.
- 2.6 Since the membership of the SAC, CC, APTL and FRAC were last reported in 2017/18 there has been a change in the elected membership of the Council, resulting in new Board Trustees as listed in the appendices.

3. Advisory Committee

- 3.1 The representatives on the Advisory Committee must represent residents associations in one or more of the following wards: Alexandra, Bounds Green, Fortis Green, Hornsey, Muswell Hill, Noel Park.
- 3.2 The associations must be open to all residents in the areas and must have written constitutions, a minimum of 50 households in their memberships and meet regularly.
- 3.3 Haringey Council administrates the Committee and therefore confirms the Advisory Committee members each year and receive the minutes of the associations' AGMs (annual general meetings), 2018/19 members are listed at **Appendix 1**.

4. Consultative Committee

- 4.1 The Consultative Committee comprises the Alexandra Palace and Park Board and up to 30 community representatives.
- 4.2 Currently 16 community representatives sit on the Consultative Committee.

4.3 Haringey Council administrates the Committee and therefore reviews the membership annually and 2018/19 members are listed at **Appendix 2**.

5. APTL

- 5.1 The APTL Memorandum and Articles of Association state the maximum number of directors shall be eight and the minimum two comprising:
 - Up to four trustees of the Charity;
 - One employee of the Company
 - One officer of the Council
 - Two others who are not officers or members of the Council or employees or trustees of the Charity.
- 5.2 The proposed 2018/19 membership is listed at **Appendix 3**.

6. FRAC

- 6.1 The Finance, Risk and Audit Committee is appointed by the APPCT Board from amongst its members and shall consist of no less than three directors.
- 6.2 The current membership is listed at **Appendix 4**.

7. Programme Board

7.1 The Programme Board is a sub-committee of the Trust Board, which oversees the major restoration and capital works (East Wing Restoration and West Yard projects) and consists of two Trustees and a Council Planning officer and Finance Officer.

8. Trust Board

At its annual general meeting on 24 May 2018 the Council appointed Councillors: Dana Carlin, Nick da Costa, Erdal Dogan, Bob Hare, Anne Stennett and Sarah Williams to the Trust Board.

9. Legal Implications

9.1 The Council's Assistant Director of Corporate Governance has not been consulted in the preparation of this report, and has no comments.

10. Financial Implications

10.1 The Council's Chief Financial Officer has not been consulted in the preparation of this report, and has no comments.

11. Use of Appendices

Appendix 1 – 2018/19 SAC members

Appendix 2 – 2018/19 CC members

Appendix 3 – APTL memberships

Appendix 4 – FRAC membership

Appendix 1

STATUTORY ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2018/19

Advisory Committee Nominated Members of:

Alexandra Residents Association

Bounds Green and District Residents Association

Muswell Hill and Fortis Green Association

Palace Gates Residents Association

Palace View Residents Association

The Rookfield Association

Three Avenues Residents Association

Warner Estate Residents Association

Jane Hutchinson Ken Ranson Duncan Neill Kevin Stanfield

Elizabeth Richardson

David Frith Jason Beazley

Jim Jenks

Appointed Members:

Alexandra Ward Bounds Green Ward Fortis Green Ward Hornsey Ward Muswell Hill Ward Noel Park Ward Council-wide Member

Council-wide Member

Councillor Josh Dixon
Councillor Yvonne Say
Councillor Justin Hinchliffe
Councillor Adam Jogee
Councillor Scott Emery
Councillor Khaled Moyeed
Councillor Lucia Dasneves

Vacancy

Appendix 2 CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2018/19

Nominated Members:

Alexandra Palace Allotments Association Alexandra Palace Organ Appeal

Alexandra Palace Television Group Alexandra Residents Association

Alexandra Park and Palace Conservation Area Advisory

Committee

Bounds Green and District Residents Association

Campsbourne Junior School Friends of Alexandra Park

Friends of the Alexandra Palace Theatre

Heartlands High School Hornsey Historical Society

Muswell Hill and Fortis Green Association

Muswell Hill Metro Group

Palace View Residents Association

St Mary's CE Primary School

Warner Estate Residents Association

John Wilkinson
Hugh Macpherson
John Thompson
Dermot Barnes
Jacob O'Callaghan

Ken Ranson Jonathan Smith Gordon Hutchinson Nigel Willmott David Cole

Rachael Macdonald

Duncan Neill John Boshier Val Paley

Frances Hargrove Richard Hudson

Appointed Members

Councillor Anne Stennett (Chair of APPCT Board)

Councillor Sarah Williams (Vice Chair of APPCT Board)

Councillor Dana Carlin
Councillor Nick da Costa
Councillor Erdal Dogan

Councillor Bob Hare

Appendix 3 APTL (ALEXANDRA PALACE TRADING LTD) MEMBERSHIP 2018/19

Director (APPCT Board Member & Chair) **Cllr Anne Stennett** Director (APPCT Board Member) Cllr Dana Carlin Cllr Sara Williams Director (APPCT Board Member) Director (APPCT Board Member) Cllr Bob Hare Louise Stewart Director (Council Employee) Director (APTL Employee)

Rick Wills Independent Director

Emma Dagnes

Appendix 4 FRAC (FINANCE, RISK AND AUDIT COMMITTEE) MEMBERSHIP 2018/19

Cllr Anne Stennett
Cllr Dana Carlin
Cllr Sara Williams
Cllr Bob Hare
Rick Wills
APPCT Board Member
APPCT Board Member
APPCT Board Member
APPCT Board Member
Independent Member

Appendix 5 EAST WING RESTORATION PROJECT PROGRAMME BOARD

Cllr Anne Stennett **APPCT Board Member & Chair** Cllr Bob Hare **APPCT Board Member**